Return to Catalogue of Works page
More information on availability, hiring, purchasing and performing please write to

Symphony No. 1, ‘Strata’

Date of composition: 2022
Instrumentation: 2(picc).2(ca).2(bcl).2(cbn)/4.2.3(btbn).1/timp.2perc/hp/str
Percussion: Bass Drum (+ damping cloth), Cymbal (Suspended), Cymbals (Pair), Glockenspiel, Iron bar (+ metal rod), Maracas, Rainstick, Slapstick, Snare Drum (+ damping cloth), Stones (2x) (+ striking stones), Tambourine, Triangle,Wind Chimes (Metal), Wood blocks (3x)
Duration: 31’00
Commissioning body: Brandon Hill Chamber Orchestra, Meadows Chamber Orchestra
Premiere performance 1: 05/03/22, St. George’s, Bristol
Premiere performers 1:  Andres Kaljuste, Brandon Hill Chamber Orchestra
Premiere performance 2: 11/06/22, Queen’s Hall, Edinburgh
Premiere performers 2: Peter Evans, Meadows Chamber Orchestra
Publisher: Eleanor Alberga